Who we are

Meet the people behind Generation Unlimited.

Members of the Generation Unlimited Board at the inaugural meeting in 2018.

Generation Unlimited brings together partners from government, multilateral organizations, civil society, the private sector and young people from around the world.


The most visible drivers of the partnership, leaders use their influence to open opportunities, advocate for Generation Unlimited and mobilize resources.

Mr. António Guterres (Co-Chair)
Secretary General, United Nations

H.E. Mr. Paul Kagame (Co-Chair)
President, Republic of Rwanda

H.E. Paula Mae Weekes (Co-Chair)
President, Trinidad and Tobago

Sir Fazle Hasan Abed
Founder and Chair Emeritus, BRAC

Mr. Gordon Brown
UN Special Envoy for Education, United Nations

Ms. Julia Gillard
Chair, Global Partnership for Education

H.E. Ms. Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović
President, Republic of Croatia

H.E. Mr. Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta
President, Republic of Kenya

Ms. Graça Machel
Founder, Graça Machel Trust

Mr. Paul Polman
Co-Founder & Chair, Imagine

Global Board

Members of the Global Board provide expertise, strategic direction, resources and leadership, and oversee the partnership.

Mr. Tariq Al Gurg
CEO, Dubai Cares

Ms. Shamma bint Suhail bin Faris Al Mazrui
Minister of Youth, United Arab Emirates

Ms. Anne-Birgitte Albrectsen
Chief Executive Officer, Plan International

Ms. Alice Albright
Chief Executive Officer, Global Partnership for Education

Mr. Ahmad Alhendawi
Secretary-General, World Organization of the Scout Movement

Ms. Kanchan Amatya
Founder and Chief Executive Director, Sustainable Fish Farming Initiative

Ms. Audrey Azoulay
Director-General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Mr. Sigve Brekke
Chief Executive Officer, Telenor Group

Ms. Sarah Brown
Executive Chair, Global Business Coalition for Education

Mr. Tijani Christian
Chairperson, Commonwealth Youth Council

Mr. Renato Covelo
Interim Chief Executive Officer, Avianca Holdings

Mr. John Denton
Secretary-General, International Chamber of Commerce

Ms. Annette Dixon
Vice President of Human Capital, World Bank

Ms. Ilwad Elman
Director, Elman Peace Centre

Mr. Tony Elumelu
Founder, The Tony Elumelu Foundation

Mr. Moussa Faki Mahamat
Chairperson, African Union Commission

Mr. John Fallon
Chief Executive Officer, Pearson Education

Ms. Henrietta Fore
Executive Director, United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)

Mr. Michael Froman
Vice Chairman and President of Strategic Growth, Mastercard

Mr. Napoleón García
Youth Director, Nuestro Tiempo and Censura Cero

Mr. José Ángel Gurría
Secretary General, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Mr. Ralph Hamers
Chief Executive Officer, ING Group

Ms. Kate Hampton
Chief Executive Offer, Children’s Investment Fund Foundation

Mr. Per Heggenes
Chief Executive Officer, IKEA Foundation

Ms. Sri Mulyani Indrawati
Minister of Finance, Republic of Indonesia

Mr. Alan Jope
Chief Executive Officer, Unilever

Mr. Mohammad Nouri Jouini
Vice President, Partnership Development, Islamic Development Bank

Ms. Sigrid Kaag
Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation, The Netherlands

Ms. Natalia Kanem
Executive Director, United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

Ms. Lise Kingo
CEO and Executive Director, United Nations Global Compact

Mr. Michael Kocher
General Manager, Aga Khan Foundation

Ms. Tsitsi Masiyiwa
Co-Founder & Co-Chair, Higher Life Foundation

Ms. Rosemary Mbabazi
Minister of Youth, Republic of Rwanda

Mr. Norbert Meder
Chief Executive Officer, SOS Children’s Villages International

Ms. Federica Mogherini
High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, European Union

Mr. Joseph Mucheru
Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Information and Communications, Republic of Kenya

Ms. Chaeli Mycroft
Co-Founder & Global Ambassador, The Chaeli Campaign & Chaeli Foundation USA.

Mr. Sobel Aziz Ngom
Founder and Executive Director, Social Change Factory

Mr. Guy Ryder
Director-General, International Labour Organization (ILO)

Mr. Saddam Sayyaleh
Founder & Director, I Learn Jordan Initiative

Mr. Asif Saleh
Executive Director, BRAC

Ms. Vibhu Sharma
Co-Chair, Global Partnership for Disabilities Youth Council

Mr. Feike Sijbesma
Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Managing Board, DSM

Ms. Mary Snapp
Vice President and Strategic Policy Advisor, Office of the President, Microsoft

Ms. Liesbet Steer
Director, The Education Commission

Mr. Achim Steiner
Administrator, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Mr. Andy Stephenson
Minister of State, Department for International Development, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Mr. Justin W. van Fleet
President, Theirworld

Ms. Jayathma Wickramanayake
Secretary General's Envoy on Youth, United Nations

Ms. Saadia Zahidi
Managing Director, Centre for the New Economy and Society, World Economic Forum

Mr. Liu Zhenmin
Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs, United Nations Department of Economics and Social Affairs (UN DESA)


In addition to the governance bodies, high-profile individuals support Generation Unlimited by lending their voices as Champions.

Mr. Nikolai Astrup
Minister of Digitalization, Kingdom of Norway

Ms. Doreen Bogdan-Martin
Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau, International Telecommunication Union 

Ms. Epsy Campbell Barr
First Vice President of the Republic of Costa Rica

Mr. Ciarán Cannon
Minister of State for the Diaspora and International Development at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Republic of Ireland

Mr. Alexander De Croo
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Development Cooperation, Kingdom of Belgium

Her Royal Highness Princess Lamia Bint Majed Al Saud
Secretary General, Alwaleed Philanthropies

Mr. Takehiko Nakao
President, Asian Development Bank

Mr. Simon Segars 
Chief Executive Officer, ARM

Ms. Vera Songwe
Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa


The ambitious goals set for Generation Unlimited require a lean and flexible team that can harness and coordinate the expertise of multiple partners from around the world.

We are responsible for strategic planning; partnership and investment support; young people’s engagement and participation; communications, advocacy and engagement; administration and operations.

Mr. Roberto Benes is the Director of Generation Unlimited. Read more about Mr. Benes.


Photo at start: Members of the Generation Unlimited Global Board at the inaugural meeting in September 2018.